Media Releases

Monday, 18 June 2018
Friday’s end of World Elder Abuse Awareness Day shone the light on New Zealand’s own despicable psychological and financial abuse perpetuated on the elderly. more...
Friday, 18 May 2018
Despite this government’s professed concerns about youth mental health wellbeing, there is no money to fund additional school guidance counsellors. more...
Friday, 6 October 2017
Mental health counsellors are urging Kiwis to get an emotional health ‘warrant of fitness’ during Mental Health Awareness Week (October 9-15). more...
Friday, 8 September 2017
Kiwis must treat their mental health like they do their physical health – get a regular check-up. That’s the message from the New Zealand Association of Counsellors (NZAC) in the lead-up to World Suicide Prevention Day (Sunday, September 10). more...
Wednesday, 24 May 2017
Counselling providers will be enormously relieved to see the Government suspend its plans to collect personal data in return for funding, says the NZ Association of Counsellors (NZAC). more...
Tuesday, 16 May 2017
More guidance counsellors not nurses, NZAC says more...
Thursday, 6 April 2017
Coercing the country’s most vulnerable people into sharing personal data in return for receiving assistance fails to ensure they are well cared for, says the NZ Association of Counsellors (NZAC). more...
Wednesday, 15 March 2017
The NZ Association of Counsellors (NZAC) wants action in schools to prevent one in four girls and one in six boys experience sexual assault in New Zealand. more...
Friday, 3 March 2017
Handing over personal details of clients who are seeking help from social services is a breach of their confidentiality, says the NZ Association of Counsellors (NZAC). more...
Thursday, 2 February 2017
The loss two young children’s lives points to a ‘missing step’ in New Zealand’s mental health services, says the New Zealand Association of Counsellors (NZAC). more...
Friday, 16 December 2016
Wednesday, 14 December 2016
Wednesday, 14 December 2016
Friday, 7 October 2016
Asking for help is often misinterpreted as a weakness but NZAC is calling on Kiwis to buck that trend during this year’s Mental Health Awareness Week. more...
Friday, 23 September 2016
Recent revelations that vulnerable young people are missing out on help further proves counsellors are needed in primary and intermediate schools, says the New Zealand Association of Counsellors (NZAC). more...
Monday, 18 June 2018
These stories were created by media who contacted NZAC more...
Tuesday, 10 October 2017
See this edition of the South Canterbury Herald for comment by Christen Macfarlane. more...

For media contact:

NZAC President

Bev Weber

president@nzac.org.nz

© Copyright NZAC 2018. All rights Reserved.   Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Email to a Friend | Print Page